MVSU male athletes awarded for highest graduation rate in state

October 5, 2017

MVSU Acting President, Dr. Jerryl Briggs with Tina Halbrook-Donahoo

STARKVILLE--Mississippi Valley State University (MVSU) male athletes have been making big wins inside of the classroom, and they have the trophy to prove it.

MVSU was the recipient of the “David Halbrook Award for Academic Achievement Among Athletes” in the Men’s Public University Division Oct. 3 during the 84th annual Halbrook Awards Luncheon.

Hosted at Mississippi State University as part of the Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities Annual Conference, the annual event is organized to recognize colleges and universities that achieve and maintain high academic standard for student athletes, which in turn encourages high graduation rates.

MVSU Acting President Jerryl Briggs said that earning the coveted award is indicative of the institution’s theme--“One Team. One Goal. One Valley. ...In Motion.”

“We’re really doing some great, positive things at MVSU and receiving this award shows that our male athletes are not only performing in the classroom, but that they are also graduating and that’s really what we are all about as a university,” Briggs said.

Briggs said outperforming the other seven public Mississippi universities is not only a testament to the hard work and dedication of the students, but to the faculty and staff as well.

“Being recognized as the highest achiever amongst the (Mississippi Institute of Higher Learning) schools was tremendous, and I give all the thanks to the Athletic Department for really making sure that our students are in the classroom.”

MVSU Director of Athletics Dianthia Ford-Kee attributes the achievement to the academic enhancements that have occurred over the past three years through a NCAA AASP Grant which has been instrumental in creating MVSU’s Student-Athlete Academic Success Center.

“This award represents the commitment of our student-athletes to buy into the academic goals of the Department,” said Ford-Kee. “Kudos to my staff for their commitment to the academic success of our student-athletes.”

While serving in the Mississippi Legislature, Representative David M. Halbrook Sr., along with his brothers John, James and J.A. Halbrook, endowed the Halbrook Awards.

Today, the awards are administered cooperatively by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, the Mississippi Community College Board and the Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

MVSU last received the award during the 1997 and 1998 school term in the Men’s Division and in 2001 for the Women’s Division.