Social Sciences


The Department of Social Sciences

Chair's Message


We are delighted you have been admitted to Mississippi Valley State University as a choice for your higher education. We would even be more grateful if you would consider majoring in one of our social sciences majors in the Department of Social Sciences.

The Department of Social Sciences is home to three undergraduate degree programs and one graduate program:

  1. Bachelor of Arts in General Studies and University Studies
  2. Bachelor of Arts in Integrated Social Sciences (ISS)
  3. Bachelor of Arts in Pre-Law/Legal Studies
  4. Master of Arts in Rural Public Policy and Planning.

The three Social Sciences undergraduate degree programs: History, Government & Politics, and Sociology were restructured into a one-degree program: Integrated Social Sciences, with minors in Africana Studies, History, Government & Politics, and Sociology. Numerous studies have demonstrated that today’s college graduates will likely change not just jobs but careers several times. The ISS degree prepares students for this future by emphasizing those skills – specifically, the ability to think critically and communicate effectively - that will be valuable regardless of career.

 All students will complete a common ISS core and courses from each discipline but will also choose one or more of these fields as their primary emphasis. This interdisciplinary approach is designed to prepare students for both graduate study and their future employment plans.

If interested in pursuing a career in public service or not-for-profit agencies or want to work for the local, state, or federal government, interested in teaching social studies in high or middle schools, or if they are people or research-oriented, please consider majoring in Integrated Social Sciences.

 If interested in careers in law, the Pre-Law/Legal Studies degree program is the choice. In addition, the University Mock Trial Team coordinated by the Department of Social Sciences prepares students interested in careers in law.

​We are anxiously expecting to meet you and discuss further our majors. Please contact the Department of Social Sciences at (662) 254-3352 or my office at (662) 254-3357 or email me at  to make your transition to one of our majors’ smoother and more enjoyable experience.

Richard J. Mushi
Chair, Department of Social Sciences
Professor of Public Administration