Department of Teacher Education

The Department of Teacher Education is located in the Olympia P. Lowe Building. The program includes undergraduate programs in Elementary Education and a non-licensure program in Early Childhood Education.

Master of Science programs in Special Education and Elementary Education are offered by the Department of Teacher Education.

The department also offers a Master of Arts in Teaching, with emphasis in Elementary Education (4-8), Social Sciences,Science/Biology, English, and Physical Education. Students may receive alternate route "A" certification in any of the areas in which alternate route licenses are offered in the State of Mississippi.

The Department of Teacher Education also oversees the educational component for the secondary areas of teacher education.

Dr. Mary Alice Jennings, Chair of Department of Teacher Education

Contact: 662-254-3619or 662-254-3618