MVSU Scholars head to graduate and professional schools

June 16, 2021

Mississippi Valley State University has long celebrated the idea of being the educational oasis in the Mississippi Delta.

As a Carnegie Classified Master's University, MVSU provides comprehensive undergraduate and graduate programs in education, the arts and sciences, and professional studies.

Its commitment drives the University to excellence in teaching, learning, service, and research--a commitment resulting in a learner-centered environment that prepares critical thinkers, exceptional communicators, and service-oriented, engaged, and productive citizens.

The central goal of the institution is to be fundamentally committed to positively impacting the quality of life and creating extraordinary educational opportunities for the students who matriculate through the various degree program.

Following the 2021 MVSU in-person commencement, several MVSU undergraduate students informed academic affairs of being admitted into graduate programs across the country.

Jhah Cook, who served as the 2020-21 Student Government Association president, was admitted as a Yale University’s Doctor of Philosophy student to the Neuroscience track of the Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences.

Larozzo Shugart was Mr. MVSU for the 2020-21 academic year and received his undergraduate degree in Health and Physical Education and Recreation. Shugart also received the distinction of receiving the highest GPA and two other students in the 2021 graduating class. Shugart has been admitted into Louisiana State University to pursue a Master of Arts degree but will first be on active duty in the United States Air Force in December.

Additionally, Jesiah Williams (Pre-law/Legal Studies) was admitted to Southern University Law School, NaKeitha Austin (Social Work) was admitted to Saint Louis University and Delaware State University. Kanyata Beller (Social Work) was admitted to Our Lady of the Lake University. Jazzalyn Miller (Mass Communication-Broadcasting) was admitted to Norfolk State University.

Music Education major Forrest Kimbrough was admitted to Florida State University. LaQuandria Murry (Mathematics) was accepted into the University of Mississippi. Brenda Blackshire (Education) was admitted to MVSU. Chelsea Washington (Government/Politics and Speech Communication) was admitted into Jackson State University. John Epps (Business Administration) was admitted to MVSU. Natasha Fort (Business Administration) was admitted into MVSU.

Alisha Sealy (Biology) was admitted to Cleveland University Kansas City School of Chiropractics. Airiyal Davis (Elementary Education) was admitted into Jackson State University. Jerry Garner (Engineering Technology) was admitted to MVSU’s Master of Business Administration program. Alexis Harris (Business Administration) was admitted to MVSU. Tiara Tiffany DeRosa (Computer Science) Georgia Tech. Remeya Ganesh (Biology) has been admitted to John Cook University in Queensland, Australia. Ronia Jacqueline Pierre Louis (HPER) and Kristien Sara Lindo (Biology) were admitted to Jacksonville University.