

Office of the Faculty Senate

President: Dr. Chetara Epps	Asst. Secretary: Vacant
Vice-President: Dr. Candace Carter-Stevens	Corresponding Secretary: Ms. Jocelyn Haley
Secretary: Dr. Teresa Banks	Parliamentarian: Vacant

September 13, 2022, Minutes

Senators Attending: Dr. Chetara Epps, Dr. Kathie Golden, Ms. Jocelyn Haley, Dr. Candace Carter-Stevens, Dr. Teresa Banks, Ms. Latonzia Evans, Dr. Mary Shepherd, Dr. Shelly Garlotte, and Dr. Zainul Abedin

Not attending: N/A

I. Call to order: Dr. Epps called the meeting to order at 12:03pm via Microsoft Teams

II. **Vacant Positions:** The decision had to be made to fulfil the vacant positions due to the absence of previous senators; therefore, we suspended the rule of members having to serve at least one (1) academic year (9 months) to be eligible for nomination for the position of senate officers. Senators who were present during the meeting, nominated and voted on senators who were interested in some of the vacant positions rather than waiting until spring 2023.

- Dr. Candace Carter-Stevens was elected as the Faculty Senate Vice President
- Dr. Teresa Banks was elected as the Faculty Senate Secretary

III. **Faculty Handbook Overview:** The Senators voted "Yes" on the faculty handbook draft. The Senators agreed to share the faculty handbook draft to each faculty in their department including adjunct faculty. The deadline for Dr. Epps to receive faculty feedback regarding the faculty handbook is September 27, 2022, by 5:00pm.

In addition, all faculty serving as members on a committee should serve at least two (2) years on each committee rather than one (1) year.

VIII. **Other Business/Announcements:** There were no other business to be addressed or any announcements.

Meeting adjourned at 12:33pm by Dr. Epps

Minutes submitted by Dr. Epps