Approved minutes of MVSU Faculty Senate Meeting, September 7, 2010.

The meeting was called to order at 11:10 A.M. The agenda was approved and the meeting then moved to the election of officers.

Officers for 2011-2011

For President, Dr. Paul Schreiber was nominated and elected unanimously.

For Vice President there were two nominations, and the election was held by secret ballot.

Dr. Abigail Newsome received 12 votes and Dr. Wayne Robinson received 4 votes.

Dr. Kathryn Green was nominated and elected unanimously for Secretary

Ms. Elizabeth Evans was nominated and elected unanimously for Assistant Secretary

Ms. Bessie Hutchins was nominated and elected unanimously for Parliamentarian

Dr. Louis Hall was nominated and elected unanimously for Correspondence Secretary.

The meeting then moved to a consideration of the committees and their membership for this academic year. After discussion of combining committees from last year or having Student Concerns and Administrative Support be ad hoc/formed as needed, it was decided to leave the committee list as with last year.

Volunteers were requested, and the committee assignments for this year will be as follows:

1. Faculty Concerns. Cassie Osborne, Abigail Newsome, Kathryn Green, Latonya Garner, and Samuel McNair

2. Faculty Handbook - Mack Felton, Louis Hall, Paul Schreiber

3. Student Concerns. Bobbie Peoples, Jessica Barnes, Samuel McNair, and Dorothy Vaughn

4. Administrative Support. Louis Hall, Mack Felton, Wayne Robinson L. Hall, M. Felton, & W. Robinson

5. Faculty Senate Constitution - Dorothy Vaughn, Bessie Hutchins, Emmett McClary, Abigail S. Newsome

Under old business Paul Schreiber reported that the Faculty Handbook was still in process, but soon to be finalized.

The Senate voted to again poll the faculty, including chairs, for their top three concerns.

Jessica Barnes indicated that she wants to add a new class but has not been able to get the class approved through the process. Dr. Schreiber asked Ms. Barnes to contact him so as to expedite the process.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Submitted by:

Kathryn Green Kathryn Green Secretary

Paul Schreiber Paul Schreiber President