Mississippi Valley State University

July 28, 2016

University News

MVSU Student, Faculty Member Named William Winter Scholars

April 03, 2014

A student and faculty member at Mississippi Valley State University were named William Winter Scholars at the 25th Annual Natchez Literary and Cinema Celebration held in Natchez, Miss.

Mamie Osborne, assistant professor of English, and Exodus Brownlow, senior English major, were recognized at this year’s celebration. Students, faculty or administrators are selected to be William Winter Scholars based on their outstanding performance in the humanities division at their respective university.

Beginning in 1990 at Copiah-Lincoln Community College, the celebration annually presents a theme-based lecture series enhanced by films, field trips, workshops, exhibits, book signings, concerts and discussions. This year’s theme was 60 Years and Counting: Voices of the Civil Rights Movement.

Osborne began her tenure at MVSU in 1999. She holds a bachelor’s degree in English from Mississippi Valley State University and a master’s degree from the University of Louisville. She is currently working on her Ph.D. at Jackson State University.

“I consider it an honor to be named a William Winter Scholar,” said Osborne. “It was a great experience meeting so many notable people. And, I thank this department and the University for granting me the opportunity.”

Brownlow is a native of Cruger, Miss. She is also a Spanish tutor for University College. After graduating from Valley, she plans to pursue her master’s degree in creative writing. Her ultimate goal is to become a novelist.

“I am honored to receive such a prestigious award,” said Brownlow. “Now I feel like my hard work has finally paid off.”

William Winter is an award-winning Mississippi Governor known for his championed education reform during and after his service at the Capitol. Governor Winter has served Mississippi in numerous official capacities including Lt. Governor from 1972–1976, Mississippi State Treasurer, 1964–1968; Mississippi State Tax Collector, 1956–1964; and Representative in the Mississippi House of Representatives, 1948–1956.