Mississippi Valley State University

July 30, 2016

University News


July 24, 2013
                                      Kevin Eugene                           Julian Stafford               Robert Simpson

Mississippi Valley State University football standouts Kevin Eugene, Julian Stafford and Robert Simpson are three of six nominees for the Walter Payton Achievement Award.

here to vote. Two winners -- one player from each school -- from the pool of six will be determined via online fan voting before the game on September 1. Voting opened on July 19 and ends on August 19, with the winners announced on August 30.

For more information regarding the nominees, click

First presented in 2008, the
Walter Payton Achievement Award is an honor given annually to a player from each school participating in the MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney.

The award is named in honor of late Chicago Bears running back Walter Payton, who attended Jackson State University, a SWAC school, in the 1970s before embarking on his Hall of Fame career with the Chicago Bears.

Three nominees from each school -- Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference's Florida A&M University (Tallahassee, Fla.) and Southwestern Athletic Conference's Mississippi Valley State University (Itta Bena, Miss.) -- were selected by a committee consisting of academic advisers and coaches.