Mississippi Valley State University

July 25, 2016

University News


November 14, 2012

Mississippi Valley State University had a strong presence at the annual meeting of the Mississippi Political Science Association which was held at Delta State University, November 2-3 2012. Two Valley faculty members were elected to serve on the Executive Board of the association - Dr. Elizabeth Evans, assistant professor of Public Administration, Secretary and Dr. Larry W. Chappell, University pre-law adviser, professor of political science and coordinator of the Political Science Program, re-elected as an at-large member.

“I am pleased that Mississippi Valley State University had such a strong participation at this year's meeting of the Mississippi Political Science Association. I am especially pleased that Dr. Evans was elected as an officer, which means there is a good chance the MPSA will host its annual meeting at our campus in 2014. Hosting the event on our campus again, will help demonstrate our continued commitment to a vital academic environment at the Valley”, said Chappell.

A number of faculty members from Mississippi Valley made presentations at the meeting. Dr. Evans presented a paper entitled, “Welfare Policy Performance: Public Administrators Speak for Multiple Personalities”. Dr. Chappell was joined by Dr. John Bradford, assistant professor of Sociology, on a roundtable discussion on “Teaching Power in the Undergraduate Classroom”. Dr. Chappell also presented a co-authored paper with Dr. Bernard L. Bray of Talladega College entitled “Blindness, Civic Hospitality and Enabling Civic Space”.

The Mississippi Valley State University Mock Trial Team also did a public exhibition at the meeting. Students participating in the exhibition included: Kylon Alford-Windfield, Arlinda Carter, Randall Johnson, Jacqueline Stokes, Gianni Williams, and Darren Woodson. Participation by the Mock Trial Team was sponsored by the MVSU Office of Advancement.

Upcoming competitions include Southeast Diversity Mock Trial Competition, February 15-16, 2013 at Tennessee State University in Nashville, Tenn., and the National Undergraduate Diversity Mock Trial Competition, April 12-13, 2013 at the John Marshall Law School in Chicago, Ill.